ANGUS

Breed History

The First Angus in America
When George Grant transported four Angus bulls from Scotland to the middle of the Kansas Prairie in 1873, they were part of the Scotsman's dream to found a colony of wealthy, stock-raising Britishers. Grant died five years later, and many of the settlers at his Victoria, Kansas, colony later returned to their homeland. However, these four Angus bulls, probably from the herd of George Brown of Westertown, Fochabers, Scotland, made a lasting impression on the U.S. cattle industry.

When two of the George Grant bulls were exhibited in the fall of 1873 at the Kansas City (Missouri) Livestock Exposition, some considered them "freaks" because of their polled (naturally hornless) heads and solid black color (Shorthorns were then the dominant breed.) Grant, a forward thinker, crossed the bulls with native Texas longhorn cows, producing a large number of hornless black calves that survived well on the winter range. The Angus crosses wintered better and weighed more the next spring, the first demonstration of the breed's value in their new homeland.

Early Importers and Breeders
The first great herds of Angus beef cattle in America were built up by purchasing stock directly from Scotland. Twelve hundred cattle alone were imported, mostly to the Midwest, in a period of explosive growth between 1878 and 1883. Over the next quarter of a century these early owners, in turn, helped start other herds by breeding, showing, and selling their registered stock.

The American Angus Association
The American Aberdeen-Angus Breeders' Association (name shortened in 1950s to American Angus Association) was founded in Chicago, Illinois, on November 21, 1883, with 60 members. The growth of the Association has paralleled the success of the Angus breed in America.

In the first century of operation, more than 10 million head were recorded. The Association records more cattle each year then any other beef breed association, making it the largest beef breed registry association in the world.

American Angus Association (2018, August). Angus History. Retrieved from https://www.angus.org/Pub/AngHist.aspx

Breed Associations

Name Type State/Province Country Website
Utah Angus Assoication State UT United States http://www.utahangus.org/
Western Colorado Angus Association State CO United States http://www.westerncoloradoangus.org/
Wyoming Angus Association State WY United States http://www.wyomingangus.org/
American Angus Association National MO United States www.angus.org
Oregon Angus Association State OR United States http://www.oregonangus.org/
Arkansas Angus Association State AR United States http://www.arkangus.org/
East Tennessee Angus Assoication Regional TN United States https://easttnangus.com/
Michigan Angus Association State MI United States https://www.michiganangus.org/
Northern Illinois Angus Association Regional IL United States https://www.northernilangus.org/
Kentucky Angus Association State KY United States http://www.kentuckyangus.org/
Iowa Angus Association state IA United States http://www.iowaangus.org/
Georgia Angus Association State GA United States http://www.georgiaangus.org/
North Carolina Angus Association State NC United States http://www.ncangus.org/
Washington Angus Association State WA United States http://www.washingtonangus.com/
Kansas Angus Association State KS United States http://www.kansasangus.org/
Pennsylvania Angus Association State PA United States http://www.paangus.org/
Wisconsin Angus Association State WI United States http://www.wisconsinangus.org/
Missouri Angus Association State MO United States http://www.missouriangus.org/
Ohio Angus Association State OH United States http://www.ohioangus.org/
Texas Angus Association State TX United States https://texasangus.com/
Illinois Angus Association State IL United States https://illinoisangus.com/
Arizona Angus Association + Ariz State AZ United States http://www.azherefordangus.org/
Heart of the Ozarks Angus Association Regional MO United States http://heartoftheozarksangus.com/
Quebec Angus Association State QC Canada http://www.quebecangus.ca/fr/default.asp
South Carolina Angus Association State SC United States http://scangus.org/
Nebraska Angus Association State NE United States http://www.nebraskaangus.org/
New Mexico Angus Association State NM United States http://www.nmangusassociation.org/
Colorado Angus Association State CO United States http://www.coloradoangusassociation.com/
Lamoine Angus Association Regional IL United States http://www.lamoinevalleyangus.com/
California Angus Association State CA United States http://www.californiaangus.com/
Maryland Angus Association State MD United States http://www.marylandangus.org/
Alberta Angus Association State AB Canada https://albertaangus.com/
Saskatchewan Angus Association State SK Canada http://www.saskatchewanangus.com/
Canadian Angus Association National AB Canada https://cdnangus.ca/
Virginia Angus Association State VA United States http://www.vaangus.com/
Red River Angus Association Regional OK United States http://www.redriverangusassoc.com/
Ontario Angus Association State ON Canada http://ontarioangus.com/
Southwest Virginia Angus Association Regional VA United States http://www.swvaangus.org/
Red River Angus Association State TX United States http://www.redriverangusassoc.com/
Oklahoma Angus Association State OK United States http://www.oklahomaangus.com/
New York Angus Association State NY United States http://www.ny-angus.com/
Minnesota Angus Association State MN United States http://www.mn-angus.com/
Montana Angus Association State MT United States http://www.mtangus.org/
Tennessee Angus Association State TN United States http://tnangusassn.com/
Manitoba Angus Association State MB Canada https://www.mbangus.ca/
Alabama Angus Association State AL United States http://www.alabamaangusassociation.com/
Indiana Angus Association State IN United States https://www.indianaangus.com/
North Dakota Angus Association State ND United States http://www.ndangus.com/
Mississippi Angus Association State MS United States http://www.msangus.com/
Louisiana Angus Association State LA United States http://www.angusjournal.com/laangus/
Florida Angus Association State FL United States http://floridaangusassociation.com

Breed EPDs

Beef Value (DollarB)

Beef Value ($B), an index value expressed in dollars per head, is the expected average difference in future progeny performance for postweaning and carcass value compared to progeny of other sires.

Birth Weight (BW)

Difference in birth weights of a bulls progeny when compared to the breed average. Measured in pounds. Birth Weight EPD predicts the difference in average birth weight of a bulls calves compared to calves of another bull. Reported in pounds, a lower number is desirable.

Calving Ease Direct (CED)

Calving Ease Direct is the difference in percentage of unassisted births when a sire is bred to first calf heifers. A higher number is desirable.

Calving Ease Maternal (CEM)

Percent of unassisted births in first-calving daughters. Maternal Calving Ease, or Calving Ease Maternal is expressed as the difference in percentage of unassisted births of a sires daughters as first-calf heifers when compared to daughters of other sires. Reported as a percentage, a higher value is desirable.

Carcass Weight (CW)

Difference in poulds of hot carcass weight, adjusted to an industry standard age endpoint This EPD predicts the difference in hot carcass weight of a bulls progeny compared to progeny of all other bulls evaluated at a given endpoint. Reported in pounds, a higher number is generally desirable. Hot carcass weight is the weight of the animal immediately after slaughter. To calculate how much meat you will receive, use this equation: Live weight x dressing percentage x carcass cutting yield = pounds of meat. 280 x (0.72 x 0.74) = 280 x 53% = 148 pounds of meat.

Cow Energy (DollarEN)

Cow Energy Value ($EN), expressed in dollar savings per cow per year, assesses differences in cow energy requirements as an expected dollar savings difference in daughters of sires. A larger value is more favorable when comparing two animals (more dollars saved on feed energy expenses). Components for computing the cow $EN savings difference include lactation energy requirements and energy costs associated with differences in mature cow size.

Docility (DOC)

The difference in yearling cattle temperament, with a higher value indicating more favorable docility.

Dry Matter Intake (DMI)

Dry Matter Intake (DMI), expressed in pounds per day, is a predictor of difference transmitting ability for feed intake during the postweaning phase, compared to that of other sires.

Fat Thickness (FAT)

Fat Thickness EPD (Fat), expressed in inches, is a predictor of the differences in external fat thickness at the 12th rib (as measured between the 12th and 13th ribs) of a sires progeny compared to progeny of other sires.

Feedlot Value (DollarF)

Feedlot Value ($F), an index value expressed in dollars per head, is the expected average difference in future progeny performance for postweaning merit compared to progeny of other sires.

Grid Value (DollarG)

Grid Value ($G), an index value expressed in dollars per head, is the expected average difference in future progeny performance for carcass grid merit compared to progeny of other sires.

Heifer Pregnancy (HP)

Heifer Pregnancy (HP), is a selection tool to increase the probability or chance of a sires daughters becoming pregnant as first-calf heifers during a normal breeding season. A higher EPD is the more favorable direction and the EPD is reported in percentage units.

Marbling (MARB)

A predictor of the difference in a sires progeny for percent marbling score or percent intramuscular fat in the ribeye muscle compared to other sires. This EPD predicts the difference in average USDA marbling score of a bulls progeny compared to progeny of another bull at a similar end point. Reported in degrees of a marbling score, higher values are desirable. In a similar fashion, EPDs generated from ultrasound scan data reflect differences in chemical fat content within the ribeye muscle (intramuscular fat). Research has shown a strong relationship between marbling score and % intramuscular fat. Therefore, selection for higher % intramuscular fat EPDs would be expected to increase marbling scores and associated quality grade in slaughter progeny.

Maternal Milk (MILK)

Maternal Milk EPD (Milk), is a predictor of a sires genetic merit for milk and mothering ability as expressed in his daughters compared to daughters of other sires. In other words, it is that part of a calfs weaning weight attributed to milk and mothering ability.

Mature Height (MH)

Mature Height EPD (MH),expressed in inches, is a predictor of the difference in mature height of a sires daughters compared to daughters of other sires.

Mature Weight (MW)

Mature Weight EPD (MW), expressed in pounds, is a predictor of the difference in mature weight of daughters of a sire compared to the daughters of other sires.

Quality Grade (DollarQG)

Quality Grade ($QG) $QG represents the quality grade segment of the economic advantage found in $G. $QG is intended for the specialized user wanting to place more emphasis on improving quality grade. The carcass marbling (Marb) EPD contributes to $QG.

Residual Average Daily Gain (RADG)

Residual Average Daily Gain (RADG), expressed in pounds per day, is a predictor of a sire’s genetic ability for postweaning gain in future progeny compared to that of other sires, given a constant amount of feed consumed.

Ribeye Area (RE)

Ribeye Area EPD (RE), expressed in square inches, is a predictor of the difference in ribeye area of a sires progeny compared to progeny of other sires.

Scrotal Circumference (SC)

Scrotal Circumference EPD (SC), expressed in centimeters, is a predictor of the difference in transmitting ability for scrotal size compared to that of other sires.

Weaned Calf Value (DollarW)

Weaned Calf Value ($W), an index value expressed in dollars per head, is the expected average difference in future progeny performance for preweaning merit. $W includes both revenue and cost adjustments associated with differences in birth weight, weaning direct growth, maternal milk and mature cow size.

Weaning Weight (WW)

Difference in weaning weight of a bulls progeny when compared to the breed average. Measured in pounds. Weaning Weight EPD predicts the difference in average 205-day weight of a bulls progeny compared to calves of another bull. Reported in pounds, a higher number is desirable.

Yearling Height (YH)

Yearling Height EPD (YH), is a predictor of a sires ability to transmit yearling height, expressed in inches, compared to that of other sires.

Yearling Weight (YW)

Difference in yearling weight of a bulls progeny when compared to the breed average. Measured in pounds. Yearling Weight EPD predicts the difference in average 365-day weight of a bulls progeny compared to progeny of another bull. Reported in pounds, a higher number is generally desirable.

Yield Grade (DollarYG)

Yield Grade ($YG) $YG represents the yield grade segment of the economic advantage found in $G. $YG is intended for the specialized user wanting to place more emphasis on red meat yield. It provides a multi-trait approach to encompass ribeye, fat thickness and weight into an economic value for red meat yield.